Home -> View Lot

Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909 Vice President and Cabinet Members Signed Items (14)

Lot Number 1278

Quantity: Bid Starts: 03/24/2023 12:00:00 
Bid Open: 150.00  Bid Ends: 04/06/2023 23:30:00 
Bid Count: Overtime: 30 Minutes
Currently: 0.00  Time Left: 14d 4h 20m 7s
View Count: 577   
    Previous Lot <--> Next Lot

Morgan Bulkeley's Personal 1790s-1920s "Presidential Cabinet" Autograph Collection


As the first National League president in baseball history (1876), Morgan Bulkeley is a much sought-after signature in his own right, and we've been fortunate to showcase the early Hall of Famer's signed personal effects in our recent auctions. Now the shoe is on the other foot, so to speak, because it turns out that Bulkeley himself was an autograph collector—and he happened to focus his efforts on fellow presidents! U.S. presidents, that is, plus the inner circles of cabinet members who served them. This political theme was quite apt considering that Bulkeley went on to serve as Hartford mayor, Connecticut governor and U.S. Senator before his death in 1922 at age 84.


Thus we proudly present Morgan Bulkeley's presidential cabinet autograph collection spanning George Washington's coterie in the 1790s up through the Harding/Coolidge/Hoover era after World War I. There are 10 presidents and 17 vice presidents represented, plus Daniel Webster, William Jennings Bryan and the Great Compromiser, Henry Clay. Also no fewer than 9 members of Lincoln's famed "Team of Rivals" cabinet, including Salmon Chase and William Seward. Some cabinet members in the collection served multiple positions and/or administrations. The various cuts originate mainly from official documents, letters/envelopes and souvenir cards. They range in size, condition and mounting, yet are uniform in their elegance, scarcity and historical import. Each elite offering comes with an Auction LOA from JSA.



Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909 Vice President and Cabinet Members Signed Items (14)


1) Charles Fairbanks (Vice President)


2) Lyman Gage (Secretary of Treasury)


3) Lyman Shaw (Secretary of Treasury)


4) Philander Knox (Attorney General)


5) Charles Smith (Postmaster General)


6) Henry Payne (Postmaster General)


7) John Long (Secretary of Navy)


8) William Moody (Secretary of Navy)


9) Paul Morton (Secretary of Navy)


10) Ethan Hitchcock (Secretary of Interior)


11) James Wilson (Secretary of Agriculture)


12) George Cortelyou (Secretary of Commerce)


13) Victor Metcalf (Secretary of Commerce)


14) Elihu Root (Secretary of State)

Pictures  (Click on Photo to Enlarge)